Before the dawn

Kalmthoutse Heide before dawn, Belgium

Kalmthoutse Heide before dawn, Belgium

© 2012 – philip vergeylen – all rights reserved

An early morning walk can be very inspiring and relaxing, especially when the landscape is covered in thick mist.

The Kalmthoutse Heide is a cross-border nature reserve with many pools, heathland, inland dunes and vast forests. The entire park constitutes a landscape with great cultural-historical value and is cut through by the Belgian-Dutch border. To me, it is one of the most beautiful nature reserves in Flanders. You can find an other photo of this park in my earlier post ‘Check out my new website‘.

From where I live, it takes about a one hour drive to the park. Sometimes I go there very early in the morning. I like the feeling of being the only one around the place.

That particular morning, I started before dawn and made a long walk through the park. It was very foggy and the visibility was reduced to less than 10 meter. Later that morning, when the fog had lifted, I was able to make this photo. To me, the photo perfectly represents the mood of that unforgettable pre-dawn walk on the heather.

Philip.

12 thoughts on “Before the dawn

  1. Love foggy scenes…I try to paint like this every now and then. It’s a challenge, but I enjoy it. Lack of photorealistic detail leaves the mind open for interpretation.

Leave a Reply

