The Old Men and the Sea

Mousehole, Cornwall, England

Mousehole, Cornwall, England

© 2014 – philip vergeylen – all rights reserved.

I love Cornwall. Don’t ask me why … because I can’t tell you. I just love the place.

I’ve always been attracted to coasts. Not the sandy beaches packed with people in the summer, as we have here in Belgium. 65 kms of sand, ice cream, beer, sun block and apartment blocks. Full of tourist from Belgium, Germany, The Netherlands, Luxemburg … No, I prefer the rough coasts of Cornwall, Pembrokeshire, Scotland …

I can enjoy sandy beaches, but without the crowds you find in Oostende or Blankenberge. My favourite sandy beaches are not found in Belgium, but rather on the Outer Hebrides, the Faroe Islands or Iceland.

For a landscape photographer, those beaches have a lot more to offer than most of the landscapes I know. They can help to create the mood that can be found in many of my photos. The photos I call ’Made in Neverwhere’.

But Cornwall has more to offer than just desolate beaches or waves crashing on the rocks of Port Nanven. There are those beautiful little towns and villages, with great pubs and even greater pub food. There is the countryside that makes walking a real pleasure, with lots of friendly hikers and their friendly Border Collies. And there is the ever changing weather and the associated cloudy skies. Skies that I never saw here in Belgium.

And most of all, there are those tiny little villages and harbours where it is always a great time to be.

The photo was made in Mousehole (pronounced ‘Mowzel’), a place I keep going back to, whenever I’m in Cornwall. Mousehole is a harbour town in Mount’s Bay, in the Western most part of Cornwall. It lies within the Cornwall Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, giving it the same status and protection as a National Park.

The last time I visited Cornwall, I left the car at Lamorna Cove and hiked through the fields to Mousehole. I arrived at lunch hour, and no better place to go than the Ship Inn, a pub where ‘dogs and children are allowed’ … To be honest, I never tried one of the other pubs in town, so I believe it’s right to say that it’s the best pub in Moushole I know.

After lunch and beer, I strolled through the harbour, looking for some photo opportunities, when I say these two men, standing in the water near a boat. I bet that, earlier that day, they brought in the ‘catch of the day’ I had for lunch just an hour before.

Later that day, I hiked back to Lamorna Cove, this time, following the coast line. Next year, I hope I will be back.

philip
www.philipvergeylen.com

6 thoughts on “The Old Men and the Sea

  1. Philip, I never knew you like British places, this is very good – and thinking of remoter places, I know just what you mean about the beaches of the Outer Hebrides – what a magical place!

    I like the picture – a slice of life down on that rugged coast – and your words. Adrian

  2. Je doet me dromen Philip… dromen van lange wandelingen, open landschappen, zeelucht, verlaten ruwe stranden, natuur… rust… misschien ooit nog? Supermooie foto… de film toen was ook geweldig!

Leave a Reply

